Beauty Tuesday: New Favorites

A few weeks ago, I shared my favorite beauty products.  Since then, I’ve discovered a few new products that are now part of my favorites. And the best thing is, two of the products come from the drug store, so they’re affordable!

First up is a new mascara that I had mentioned wanting to try.  Well, I finally tried it and I really like it.  It’s L’Oreals False Fiber Lashes.  Retailing for around $8-9, this mascara delivers lush black lashes nearly as well as my standby favorite(Dior’s Blackout).  The first time I used it, I did NOT like it and almost threw it out.  But after that initial trial, I decided to give it another shot and it’s been my go-to mascara for the past 3-4 weeks.  It’s starting to get a little clumpy now that I’ve been using it so much(something I don’t have issues with when I use Dior) but I just use a toothbrush(one that’s I’ve never used for mouth hygiene) to brush out any clumps.  I will definitely continue to use this mascara on a daily basis and save my Diorshow for special occasions. I recommended this mascara to my sister and she loves it too.

I picked up a pot of Maybelline’s Dream Bouncy Blush on a whim one day at the grocery store because I wanted a peachy colored blush.  Turns out, I love this blush.  Probably more than any of the expensive premium blushes I own.  I apply along my cheekbones with my fingers and it lasts all day long and give me a nice peachy glow.  I use the color Peach Satin and it’s a perfect compliment since I colored my hair a more coppery color(trying to get back to the color I had as a child).


You guys know that I’ve been on the eternal quest to find lipstick that doesn’t wear off 2 seconds after I apply it.  Well, I have found such  lipstick!  Mac’s Matte Lipstick in Ruby Woo and Russian Red.  This stuff literally stays on for at least 4-5 hours and I only have to reapply after eating a meal.  I think that it’s due to the fact that because it’s matte, I don’t spend the whole day smooshing my lips together like I do with glossier lipsticks.  It feels a little dry on the lips, but you get used to it.

Ruby Woo

Russian Red

In the mornings after I brush my teeth, I apply vaseline to my lips and let it sink in while I do my hair and apply my makeup.  Then I rub off any remaining vaseline, apply coordinating lip liner and one coat of matte lipstick and I’m good to go for at least 4 hours.  I personally prefer the Russian Red to Ruby Woo.  Ruby Woo is really, really matte and dry and it’s more of a pinky-red than Russian Red which is more of a true red(with blue undertones). But either one are gorgeous and I believe they would be flattering on just about anyone.  If you’re looking for long-lasting red lips, definitely try one of these colors!

Here’s a picture I just snapped via iPhone of my lips 5 hours after I applied Ruby Woo.  I’ve drunk coffee, water and eaten a larabar.

Any new beauty products you’re currently loving or recently discovered?

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

