Nautically Inspired

Hi everyone! Today is an exciting day!  Ordinary Fashionista is being featured over at Whitney Between the Lines!!  Whitney is an educator who maintains a style blog to help other educators(and other wanna-be fashionistas) style cute, modest, work-appropriate and most importantly, affordable outfits.  I really like her style and I think you will too. You should definitely check Whitney out!

I purchased the skirt I’m wearing from The Limited probably 2 months ago with a gift card.  I loved it, but it sat in my closet for a long time because I just wasn’t sure what to pair with it.  The stripes are not white; more of a khaki color so that threw me off.  I honestly considered taking it back because I really didn’t know how to style it.

Then I saw this picture from Lands End.  Same skirt just longer, paired with a simple red shirt and belt.  I have a red cowl neck sleeveless sweater from Ann Taylor Factory that I thought would work perfectly.

Let me just say, it looked awful on me.  It was so frumpy and blah, I started taking the skirt off intent on setting it aside to take back later this week.  As I was standing in my closet, I saw my navy polka dot shirt out of the corner of my eye.  I paused and thought, just maybe…maybe it would work.

The dots on my shirt are technically white but are so small that it’s not obvious and goes well with the stripes in the skirt.  A red belt added a much needed bit of color as well as broke up the boxy nature of the shirt.  I almost didn’t wear a necklace because I didn’t want to have “too” much going on, but the hubby thought a small necklace would look complete the look. Luckily, I happened to have a delicate red necklace(I don’t have too many “delicate” necklaces as I tend to gravitate toward statement pieces).  He was correct.  It did pull the look together.

What do you think?

{Blouse: Gap, Skirt/Belt: The Limited, Shoes: White House Black Market, Necklace: Loft, Headband: J. Crew}

The skirt is actually an A-line, but the way it’s hanging, it almost looks like a pencil!  It would probably be very easy to make if you could find similar fabric.

My lipstick is Ruby Woo by MAC.

Do you ever buy things spontaneously because you love them then let them sit in your closet for weeks(or months) because you’re just not sure what to pair them with?

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

