Kate Spade Inspired

I mentioned that the next project I was going to be working on was a yellow pencil skirt.  And I promise you that it was.

Then I saw this skirt from Kate Spade.

To say I loved it was an understatement.  But I didn’t love the price one bit($368).  I knew I could make that type of skirt, if I could find similar fabric.  It took me about 2 minutes of searching and I found this from Hancock Fabrics, and luckily they had it at my local store.

So with a little math, some sewing and fabrication, bam, I have a Kate Spade knock-off for under $15.

As I mentioned on Redhead Couture, it’s not as full as the original because I did my calculations wrong and didn’t buy enough fabric.

I feel that the skirt is a total statement piece, so I didn’t want to distract from it with unnecessarily complicated jewelry or an over-the-top blouse.  My ruffle neck button-up from Banana has just the right amount of femininity to work perfectly with the skirt.

{Blouse: Banana Republic, Skirt: Made by me, Shoes: Ross}

One of my patients this morning told me he loved my outfit, and another told me I need to carry a concealed weapon because I’m attractive(LOL).  Guess the skirt’s working?  🙂

-Tamara

7 thoughts on “Kate Spade Inspired

    • guitargrl325 says:

      thanks! I will be checking out your blog as well. I’m constantly looking for fashion bloggers who are down to earth and normal girls just like me.

Leave a Reply

