Updates

So if you’re not in my immediate or work family, you’re probably wondering why I posted about having surgery, then being in recovery and haven’t posted since.

I had my 1 week post-op and I’m back at work now, so I guess I feel ready to talk about what happened.

One year ago, the hubby and I both realized that we were ready to start a family.  I’m sure we were encouraged by the fact that our first niece would be born soon.  Either way, we started talking about the logistics of having a baby.  Because I am the primary bread winner and I don’t get paid time off, we knew that we would have to save up a significant amount of money to cover my “maternity” leave.  I also had an IUD that needed to be removed.

We honestly figured we’d get pregnant right away and I scheduled my IUD removal for September, and I started taking pre-natal vitamins so they could build up in my system.  We didn’t initially plan to start trying until November(because I didn’t want to be pregnant at my sister’s wedding in case I was suffering from morning sickness) but we got too excited and decided to get on with it.

Month 1 went by and nothing.  I was a little disappointed, but nothing crazy.  It was only our first month after all!  I decided to be a bit more scientific about it, and purchased a ovulation predictor so that we could have a better idea of when to go for it.  I have always been very regular in terms of my cycle but I always had spotting for 2-4 days before my period started so I wasn’t exactly sure when I was ovulating.

Turns out I was ovulating each month right on time, and we kept at it.  After about 5 cycles of nothing, I started reading books on how to conceive.  Hubby and I both began taking vitamins especially for conception as well as eating conception promoting foods and timing my exercise to best maximize my fertility.  Still the cycles kept passing.  I think we had had about 9 or 10 cycles of nothing when I finally made an appointment to see an OBGYN.

Now, to be clear, it can take up to a year for a couple to get pregnant if nothing is wrong.  But I knew in my heart that something was wrong.  So even though we were a few cycles short of a year, I wanted to get things checked out.  Plus, my mom had just found out she had fibroid tumors and other female problems that would require a hysterectomy.  So I went to the doctor, thinking that maybe there was some small problem that could be easily fixed and I’d be pregnant before I knew it.

My doctor was fantastic.  He was gentle and kind and before we even got to the physical exam, he suggested that I probably had endometriosis based solely on symptoms and the fact that I had not yet conceived.  During the physical exam there were more clues that strongly indicated that this diagnosis was correct.  The thing with endometriosis is, the only way to diagnose it is by seeing it surgically which is when it is also removed.  Endometriosis can cause infertility due to a multitude of factors(more information here)

I scheduled my surgery and both my doctor and I were confident that it would take care of the problem and I’d be pregnant in less than 3 months.

Upon waking from surgery last week, I overheard one of the nurses taking about how bad my endometriosis was, but since I was so out of it, I wasn’t 100% that this actually happened.

I was taken to a room to recover some more, and my dad(I had the surgery at the hospital where he works) and husband came in to see me.  They did not have good news for me.

There are four stages of endometriosis, and I had the worst stage.  I had endometriosis wrapped around my bladder and my colon and in multiple other places.  My 1 hour surgery lasted nearly 3 hours.  He was not able to remove all the endometriosis and told my husband that I would need a hysterectomy in the future(well before menopause) and that natural conception, while not impossible would be very improbable and we would likely need to explore IVF in the future.

I’ve been dealing with the emotions of all this as well as healing form a much more extensive than planned surgery, which is why I haven’t been posting.  I haven’t even been getting out of pi’s let alone putting on makeup and fashionable clothes!  Today is my first day back at work and I hope to be back to posting my daily looks by tomorrow.

I wanted to thank all of you who prayed for me while I was in surgery and recovering and I promise not to turn this blog into an infertility blog or anything of the sort, but I will keep you updated as to what’s going on in that realm of things.

Thanks for listening.

-Tamara

3 thoughts on “Updates

  1. fitundgluecklich says:

    OMG, I’m so sorry to read all that!!!! How do you feel? I’m trying to get pregnant too since some months (nothing I talk about much, but not a secret either) and I’m a problematic case too… I have PCO syndrome, which means getting pregnant is much harder, odds for a miscarriage are higher etc…I’m still dealing with the emotions about that, since about half a year now, I think these things are never easy…I’m a control person, I want to control everything…and this is something I cannot control…
    I wish you all the best, I’ll keep reading, and if you want, we could stay in touch via e-mail too (I miss our chats in the M&F forum!! :-))
    We can do this, I’m sure, we’ll appreciate having a child much more than someone who had it the easy way, right?! Hugs!!!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I might have PCOS as well. At least, I have the polycystic ovaries….my OBGYN hasn’t fully tested me for the syndrome yet, but he’s going to test for it in a few months I believe.

      Just from the endometriosis, I have about a 2% chance of conceiving naturally and if we do IVF(which we probably won’t due to cost), it only goes to about 35%.

      I hope though, that both of us beat the odds and find out that we are pregnant soon!

Leave a Reply

