Beauty Tuesday: A Few of My Favorite Things

Often when I write a beauty post, I’ll mention that such and such product is my “favorite” but I seriously doubt you sit there and memorize all my favorite products, so I thought why not group them all together in one post!  You might not care, but I know that when I read beauty posts/blogs I like to know what those bloggers consider their favorite, because if it’s something I’ve never tried(or am on the fence about trying), it’ll inspire me to try it!

This isn’t a sponsored post or anything. I’ve never done one of those.  I’m just posting stuff I like in case you are thinking about trying said products.  On a related note, if I ever link to a product, I’m just doing that by copying and pasting the link into wordpress.  I don’t have some sort of blog thing that I get paid if you click a link.  So, boring crap out of the way, let’s get to the products.

Mascara

I’ve tried TONS of different kinds of mascara, and hands down, my favorite is Diorshow Blackout.  I get asked if I’m wearing false lashes every single time I wear this mascara because it makes my lashes look so full and lush.  I used to love L’Oreal’s 2000 calorie mascara, but they don’t make it anymore.  I’m eager to try their new “false” lash mascara and see how it compares to my beloved Diorshow(since it’s about 80% cheaper!!). I’ll report back once I try it.

Foundation*

As a very(VERY) fair individual with red hair and blue eyes, I have always struggled to find a foundation that actually is pale enough for me and doesn’t make me look orange/red.  I have found that foundation

MAC Mineralize Satinfinish foundation.  Not only is it a perfect match, it makes my skin not only look flawless but “glowy” and fresh.  You can actually wear this by itself, without powder, but I do like to set it with powder.

Powder*

I pair my foundation with MAC mineralize pressed powder.  It has such great coverage that sometimes I use it without the foundation!

Concealer*

Concealer was always an issue for me just like foundation.  Finding a pale enough color that wasn’t thick and cakey when applied was a challenge.  I’ve finally found one that works for both my under eye circles and pimples/blemishes.  Diorskin Nude concealer is my go-to. It’s on the pricey side, but you only need a little dab to get a lot of coverage.

Blush

I’ve mentioned before how blush has always been an area of difficulty for me.  I’m still not 100% in love with any of my blushes, but of all the ones I’ve tried, Tarte’s Amazonian Clay blush stands out as the best.

Eyeshadow

I really like the quality, pigment depth and blendability of MAC and Urban Decay, but if I had to pick one palette to use for the rest of my life, it would hands down be the Naked 2 palette.  The colors are just gorgeous and they compliment my skin tone extremely well(way better than the original Naked palette).

Pencil Eyeliner

This one is so easy.  Urban Decay’s 24/7 Liner in perversion. It’s the best pencil I’ve ever tried bar none. It goes on smoothly in all temperatures(lots of others don’t work well in a cold room) and it lasts all day without smudges.  If you can only afford one piece of “department store” makeup, get this.  You won’t be disappointed.

Cream Eyeliner

Mac’s Fluidline in Blacktrack.  I love this for precision or very thin lines.  It also lasts for freaking ever(I’ve had one pot for over a year now and I use it nearly every day).

Lipstick

Lipstick is an area of makeup (just like blush) in which I just haven’t really found a stand-out, I’ll be loyal my whole life product.  I just can’t seem to find a lipstick that lasts more than 1 hour(at best)…and even those 24 hour dry on your lips ones don’t last for squat on me. That being said, the one lipstick that I have found to last at least an hour is Makeup Forever’s Rouge Artist Intense lip color.  We used this at my sister’s wedding.

 

Lipgloss

I probably have 100 lip glosses. I’m always picking one up at the store to carry in my purse, then somehow it gets transferred to my makeup stash and I forget about it.  Lipgloss’s fall into the same area as lipsticks(always looking for the next best thing) and I’m usually disappointed.  However, I have had some success with L’Oreal’s Infallible 8 Hour Lipgloss(it doesn’t last anywhere near 8 hours, but it’s as good as any premium brand in my opinion).

False Eyelashes

I don’t wear faslies on a daily basis, but when I know I’m going to be photographed(weddings, ect) or I want to look extra special(anniversary dinner), I will use them.  Lots of the premium brands sell false lashes for $10-20.  Don’t waste your money.  E.L.F makes amazing false lashes and you can buy them at Target for $1.  I usually buy 5-6 sets at a time and keep them in my makeup kit, so if an opportunity arises that I want to wear lashes, I grab one of these and go.  I used these at my sister’s wedding and they worked perfectly.

 

I hope you enjoyed this peak into my makeup bag of favorites!  Think about me on Wednesday at 12:30 because I’ll be going in for surgery then!  See you on the other side.

-Tamara

*Lately, I’ve been using Bare Minerals powder set for foundation, concealer, powder.  I bought it on a whim one night at the mall when I needed to replace my face makeup.  I really like the look and the coverage, but at first I was really slow in putting it on and I didn’t really like it because of this.  Now that I’ve been using it for about 2 months, I’m really quick(less than 5 minutes) and it may, in time replace MAC and Dior as my favorite.  It’s worth looking into if you’re searching for new face makeup.

One thought on “Beauty Tuesday: A Few of My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

