Spring Flowers

First off, I want to apologize for the long break between posts.  Hubby and I were in North Carolina for a week celebrating my 30th birthday!  We rented a cabin up in the mountains and enjoyed lots of rest, white water rafting, mountain biking, tours and the Biltmore Estate.  We brought the girls with us and they had a great time.

I actually planned ahead and took a bunch of outfit pictures that I planned to pre-publish so that there wouldn’t be this gap in blog posts…but none of the pictures turned out at all(I clearly have zero talent with photography even with tutorials and advice!), so….here we are two weeks later!

After the vacation, I was feeling a little tired and off and un-motivated, which is why it’s been almost a week since we’ve gotten back that I’ve gotten around to posting.

Things are changing soon in our house!  I am on my last week of work at a practice that has been less-than-stellar.  I’m very excited to start a new adventure by leaving this place and moving onto a much better environment.  I’ll be going from working at three different practices to only two.  And I’m not going to a brand new practice, just adding more hours to a practice I’m already at, so there’s no unknown there.

It’s been unseasonably warm around here, almost as if we skipped spring and headed straight into summer.  Even so, I wanted to wear a spring-inspired outfit that has a very special piece….

Do you like my skirt?  I made it myself!  I’m so excited about how it turned out, because it’s my first piece of legitimate clothing I’ve personally made from scratch(not just up cycling something I bought at the store). I got the fabric at Jo-Anne’s from the remnant pile and it was just about 1 yard and I used almost all of it.  It took me several tries, but once I got the method down, it was easy-peasy.  I plan to make a bunch of skirts just like it in different colors and patterns.  I’ll get a tutorial up here some day!

Top: Ann Taylor

Cardigan: J. Crew Outlet(it’s actually a much more olive-y green color than shown in this picture)

Skirt: Made by ME

Shoes: Urbanog.com

 I wore this outfit on a train tour we took while on vacation and I just loved the combination of bright pink with olive tinged mustard yellow.  It’s a great way to bring a more “fall/winter” color(mustard) right into spring.  Are there any “fall” colors you’ll be wearing this spring season?

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

